This is pretty cool. The US has the TAFWA Awards. The only issue is, in the U.S.,  few even know about the awards month later. 

UK Sports Journalists’ Annual Awards 

Two athletes were among the winners at the UK Sports Journalists’ Annual Awards ceremony. Zharnel Hughes (SJA Pat Best  Award for outstanding performance of the year) and Katarina Johnson-Thompson (SJA Committee Award).  

Greg Rutherford with Eve Muirhead, photo by SJA

Hughes’ achievements included breaking Linford Christie’s long-standing GB 100m record, and Linford was there to mark the occasion.  Denise Lewis, an Olympic Heptathlon champion, was also present, as were two great 400m hurdlers, Kriss Akabusi and David Hemery.

Kris Akabusi and David Hemery, photo by SJA

The two main awards went to:

Sportsman of the Year: Stuart Broad (cricket)

Sportswoman of the Year: Mary Earps (football)

Josh Kerr was runner-up in the Sportsman of the Year category. 

Diane Lewis, photo by SJA

Greg Rutherford stepped up to present the National Lottery Spirit of Sport Award to another Olympic gold medallist, Eve Muirhead, an Olympic medallist in Curling. Greg was probably looking for a few tips as he is due to appear on the TV program, Dancing on Ice in the new year.

The UK Sports Journalist Awards, photo by SJA

Photos credit: SJA