NEW YORK (USA): Another head-to-head in New York at the Millrose Games (WIT Gold) on February 11 will come in the men’s pole vault, where Olympic and world medallist Chris Nilsen will go up against North American record-holder KC Lightfoot. They will face their US compatriots Zach McWhorter, Matt Ludwig, and Zach Bradford. It is the first time since 2014 that the men’s pole vault will be contested at the Millrose Games.

RunBlogRun opines: The pole vault has a fine history at the Millrose Games. In 2014, the Men’s pole vault was won by Mark Hollis.

If we go back in 2009 on the way back machine, we remember that Steve Hooker, the 2008 Olympic champion, cleared 6.01 meters (19’8.75″), and Jenny Stuczynski (now Jenn  Suhr), would go on to win gold in London 2012 (Jenn won the silver in Beijing 2008).

The 2009 Millrose Games was a real barn burner, as observed by Bob Ramsak for RunBlogRun, at the time. 

The pole vault at Millrose is on an elevated runway. I remember Steve Hooker competing in 2009 at Millrose and his incredible jump on that challenging runway at the MSG back then. Maurie Plante, whose meet was held today in Australia to open the Continental Gold Tour, was there in 2009. Maurie passed away a couple of years ago, and I miss his sarcasm and thoughtful, colorful descriptions of all things athletics with some real Aussie wit. 

The Millrose Games is always a fantastic meet; do not miss it this year on February 11, 2024.